top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Hall

Book Review: No Exit

No Exit

By Taylor Adams

Audiobook Narrator: Sarah Naughton

Publisher: William Morrow

Publication Date: 01/15/2019


Synopsis

On her way to see her mother, who has been hospitalized with cancer, Darby stops at a rest area when a snowstorm shuts down the roads. As she tries to get cellphone service to call her sister, she discovers a child has been kidnapped in one of the only vehicles in the parking lot. As Darby tries to unravel the mystery of who took the little girl and how she can save her, she realizes that it isn't just about saving the girl but how she too is going to survive the night.


CAWPILE RATING

Character: 7/10

Atmosphere: 9/10

Writing: 7/10

Plot: 9/10

Intrigue: 10/10

Logic: 8/10

Enjoyment: 8/10

Total CAWPILE Rating:


Rating:4/4.5🌟



Thoughts

This has been a very popular book in the online reading community and now that I've read this book, I can understand why. The plot, atmosphere, and intrigue of this book are the driving forces behind its popularity. Starting with the plot, it kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the whole read. Combined with the closed circle, isolated setting, I enjoyed chapter after chapter as I waited with bated breath to find out how the story would unfurl and eventually end.

There were however a few aspects that did not help the story, in my opinion. The first detriment to the story was Darby. Honestly, I found her annoying and at times making dumb choices. I know it's easy as the reader to sit back in judgment but starting the story off by forgetting her cellphone charger felt so unrealistic. I didn't feel she acted logically in some of the instances she found herself in within the story. I also found the writing to be okay but certainly not my favorite style. While it can be said that this style of book would not lend itself to overly flourished writing, I do think it impacted my overall feelings.

Overall, I did thoroughly enjoy this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes books within the mystery/thriller genre.


Recommendations

I would recommend this book to those who like books by Ruth Ware or Riley Sager.

I would also recommend AGAINST watching the movie adaptation on Hulu. It was incredibly disappointing.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by The+Litterature. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page