top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Hall

Book Review: Loveless


Loveless

by Alice Oseman

Originally published: 04/30/2020

Republished: 03/01/2022

Audio Narrator: Billie Fulford-Brown, Elizabeth Schenk, & Imogen Church

Publishers: Scholastic Press (2022) & Harper Collins Children's Book (2020)


Synopsis

As Georgia is finishing her final year in high school, she realizes that she has never been kissed or even had a real crush. As a lover of romance flicks and dreams of finding true love, she can't understand why she is so different from those around her including her two best friends, Pip and Jason. As she enters university, she tasks herself with finally finding love or at least just breaking into the romance scene to see what it's all about. Mistake after mistake, she realizes that maybe she doesn't have to adhere to the societally accepted fairytale of love, and that love can come in all shapes and sizes. As she accepts herself and understands what it means to be Asexual and Aromantic, the puzzle pieces start falling into place as does her understanding of who she is. Maybe friendship and self-love can be just as important as any other type of romantic love.


CAWPILE RATING

Characters: 10/10

Atmosphere: 9/10

Writing: 7/10

Plot: 7/10

Intrigue: 10/10

Logic: 10/10

Enjoyment: 10/10

CAWPILE Score: 9.0/10


Rating: 5 🌟


Thoughts

As someone who wanted to be loved and wanted relationships but has never experienced sexual attraction, this book has had a huge impact on me. Nearly two years ago, one of my favorite YouTubers, Katie Colson, read and reviewed this book. Hearing her talk about Asexuality was a true light bulb moment and it set me on this journey into understanding who I am and accepting myself. I grew up unsure and not being able to connect to others. Books like this are needed. All of this to say, I am incredibly biased as someone who was able to better understand themselves through this book.

In terms of review, the characters were incredibly relatable although I do feel that Georgia did some really dumb and hurtful things within the book. The atmosphere was well constructed, although I would not say this book was overly atmospheric. The writing was also well done. Although it isn't my favorite style of writing, Oseman's writing style was fun and easy to read. The plot was well crafted, and one could say it was formulaic. It was easy to pinpoint each stage within the plot (exposition, rising action, etc.). I did find myself intrigued to continue reading because I did feel invested in the storylines within the book but there were definite times when I didn't understand the decisions made by Georgia but overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary coming of age story and I related to the main character coming to terms with what it means to be Ace.


Until next time, Friends,

The Litterature

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page