top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Hall

Mid-March Update

Life: March has been such a good month for me thus far. I'm currently working on my Master of Science in Psychology, and I've had the last two weeks off. It has been glorious. In that time, I have had so much fun reading and relaxing. My husband is the best. I told him that I planned to be super lazy during this time and he was incredibly supportive. I've also taken time away from homeschooling my two children because, to be honest, I needed that rest and reset time. Naturally, they have been enjoying it.


Reading: Since March 1st, I have read a total of 8 books, which is huge for me. I am currently reading three books.


I started Sundial by Catriona Ward today. I received an e-arc from NetGalley and MacMillan-Tor/Forge, which was incredibly exciting.

Synopsis from Amazon:

"Sundial is a twisty psychological horror novel perfect for fans of The Push and Girl A, from Catriona Ward, author of The Last House on Needless Street.

All Rob ever wanted was a normal life.

Nothing like her childhood, growing up in the lonely wild Mojave Desert on her family's ranch, Sundial. Surrounded by dogs, coyotes, and research assistants.

For a while, it seemed like Rob got her wish: a husband, two daughters, the white picket fence, and margaritas with the neighbors. But when a frightening accident in her home reveals a disturbing secret in her oldest daughter’s bedroom, Rob knows her luck has run out. What's buried out at Sundial could never stay a secret forever, and Rob must risk one last trip out there to protect her family’s future. "



I've also been reading Ace: What Asexuality Reveals About Desire, Society, and the Meaning of Sex, by Angela Chen. As someone who identifies as Ace, I think any kind of representation is really important. As the title suggests, this book dives into the topic of Asexuality, while also bringing in a memoir-type element that features multiple people, who also identify as Ace in a variety of places along the Ace spectrum.





I started reading A Girl, A Raccoon, and the Midnight Moon by Karen Romano Young about two months ago with my son. It's been fairly slow-moving, and we are just over the halfway point. This one is about a girl named Pearl, whose mother has been a librarian at a branch of the New York City library for Pearl's entire life. One day the statue of Edna St. Vincent Millay that resides in a courtyard behind the library gets vandalized, which sparks a chain of events that threaten to close the library. Because of Pearl's love for the library, she teams up with some new friends to do what she can to save it.

Current Impressions? This story has been quite slow, but I do think it is a good story worth continuing and I look forward to seeing how the mystery solves itself.


Upcoming: I start my next class tomorrow, so I'm not entirely sure where things will go this month, but I do plan to continue pressing on in my reading. If I can finish Sundial before the end of the month, I will probably pick an additional 5 book TBR to finish out the month's reading.


Until next time,

Danielle

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page